Hush Little Baby – Joanna Barnard

When baby Oliver breaks his arm, no-one can (or will) say how it happened.

His mother is exhausted.

His father is angry.

His older sister is resentful.

And they all have something to hide. – Goodreads.com

I received this book free from the publisher via netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

When I first looked at the blurb for this book I expected a thriller of sorts, some sort of hidden agenda, big twist or serious crime. What I found was completely different but just as satisfying.

Hush Little Baby is well paced and flows well. I enjoyed the different perspectives in the novel, there was not a single character I didn’t want to hear from. I didn’t particularly “like” the husband/dad but I did appreciate that he was a very “real” character, flawed and with opinions I didn’t agree with but a very interesting story.

All the characters experience immense personal growth and growth in their personal relationships which I absolutely loved.

Slight spoilers below, just a warning about very confronting themes!

Just to let you know, this book does have themes of abuse, rape, self harm, suicide, eating disorders and postnatal depression. Please read with caution.

 

Leave a Reply

