Rococo – Sue Hollister Barr

Dark humor peppers this novella set early in the 22nd century, which includes lively action, compelling characters, and as many plot flourishes as the name suggests. But it is also based on research by companies paid to predict the future for major corporations. – Goodreads.com

I received this book free from the publisher via netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

This was such an enjoyable novella! Right from the start, the world is crazy, strange and new (not unlike Oz!). There’s all this crazy tech, there’s different country boarders and also a lot of present day issues represented in different ways.

The writing was really enjoyable and I quite liked the characters, more-so towards the end when I got the hang of who they really were and what they were like. It’s hard to keep track of all the personalities at times 😉 You’ll get that joke when you read the book.

I loved the tech side of this, I often enjoy daydreaming about all the crazy things we’ll have in the future and how that will change things, so that was a big plus for me. There was also plenty of action, no filler.

I almost missed the Wizard of Oz references even though they are blatantly obvious, but really enjoyed how they added to the story.

Let me know if you read it, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

