Buffering: Unshared Tales of a Life Fully Loaded – Hannah Hart

I received this book free from the publisher via netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

I’m fighting internally with myself over what I want to say first. So, here goes:

This book is 6 out of 5 stars, easily/you will laugh and cry and feel things you didn’t remember you could/Hannah Hart is perfectly name because she is ALL heart and all Hart

Holy shit.

This first time I came across Hannah I think was when watching a Grace Helbig video, I was only just starting to get into the personalities and comedy side of YouTube (which eventually became a coping mechanism for my major depressive disorder. Irony? Maybe.)

Anyway, Hannah’s My Drunk Kitchen popped up, and I remember watching and thinking “holy shit this girl is hilarious/cute/adorable!”. I may have started developing a celebrity crush, you know, the one where you just wanna be friends with someone because they’re so cool but you also like how they look and sound and laugh and how they make you feel alright with being a little bit gay, yourself? Be still, my fluttering heart!

Hannah has always presented such a happy-go-lucky, funny, confident and quirky self. And ignorantly as all hell, though I suppose I didn’t think too much about it, I thought “how fantastic that she’s so happy! Maybe her only struggles were with being gay and look how she’s overcome those fears!”.

Sarah – you idiot.

Now I see in Hannah what I am only starting to see in myself. Someone who has experiences abuse, trauma, mental illness, self doubt, self harm, any whatever else under this very hot Australian sun that you can think of. THAT is why she’s so happy. Or at least that’s the vibe I get. That she has climbed mountains and swum in the deepest of seas to find peace and patience and calm. To find self love and to be her own hero. When you go through all that shit, you really feel joy when it comes along.

Ok, now, back to the book itself – I’m not ready to write my own memoir yet.

This novel is incredibly written, perfectly edited. It’s compelling, hilarious, painful. I couldn’t put it down. I kept it next to me while I slept, waiting for the morning to pick it up again, I carried it to and from work and right now I just have it next to me because, well, just looking at it is comforting.

This is one of those books where you physically feel the change, the “dive in” moment, when you open the cover and read the first lines. You’re not in a story, you’re in Hannah’s Hart.

I’m bad at puns, I tried, whatever!

This novel is essential reading for anyone who has basically lived a life, been alive at any time, experienced anything ever because no matter who you are, you will find something in Hannah and in her words that will teach you, make you laugh-cry or cry-laugh and that will just stick with you.

Thank you for sharing your self, your head, your heart and your fantastic tales of LESBIAN SEX with us, Hannah!

May all the years of your life be fulfilling.

Leave a Reply

