Doll House – John Hunt

Olivia is excited for university. She will be on her own, in a new place hopeful to meet new friends.

On the night she moves in, she is taken off the street by two masked men. She is placed in a room which is little more than a cell. A pink cell. A room made for a doll. She is now part of their collection. – Goodreads.com

I received this book free from the publisher via netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

I have to admit, my interest in this book came from Pretty Little Liars. Not in the sense that they’re related to each other, but there is a dollhouse aspect in PLL, just like there is in this book though boy, are they different!

Concept-wise, I think this novel was an interesting idea, there are so many ways it could have gone, points of view to be explored.

Writing-wise, I wasn’t as excited as I’d hoped to be. I think there could have been a lot of tightening up, some of the dialogue felt unrealistic and a couple of the chapters could have gone altogether.

And masked-men reveal-wise, it wasn’t at all who I was thinking. Usually I would take this as a satisfying twist, being out-thunk by the author but in this case I think there was a much stronger choice to be made, given the absolute brutality of the story. Yes, it would have been a hell of a lot more sinister, but it would have made more sense.

We do get to see how different women cope with trauma, whether they lose themselves, stay themselves, let themselves be victims or become survivors which I thought was quite interesting and is explored a lot through Olivia.

All in all, great concept, editing could have been much tighter, overall I’d give it 3 stars.

 

Have you ever come across a twist that actually left you unsatisfied?

 

Leave a Reply

