One of Us is Lying – Karen M. McManus

Pay close attention and you might solve this.
On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.
    Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.
    Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.
    Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.
    Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.
    And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.
 
Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?
 
Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them. – Goodreads.com

I received this book free from the publisher via netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

If you’re a fan of The Breakfast Club, cheesy films, teen drama and suspense them OMG you’re gonna love this book!

I was so, so excited when I read about it that I was really praying for a chance to review it and I’m so glad I got to. I’m trying really hard to not use excessive exclamation points but I’m just that excited…!

The story is broken into pieces, we follow the story in little snapshots of the students lives, which are all so full of detail, action or relationship development that there’s not a dry passage in this book. I found myself not even worrying too much “who-dun-it” because I was so invested in their personal lives and everything happening around the suspicious death, now that is good writing.

In high school I went from Brain to Outcase to Brain with a touch of the Criminal look (but not behaviour). Where did you fit in?

2 thoughts on “One of Us is Lying – Karen M. McManus

  1. I completely agree with you and how there wasn’t a dry passage in this book. I was so worried going in because I was super excited for this and lately the mystery/thrillers I have been reading haven’t kept me engaged as much as I would like. I felt like this had plenty of suspense and wasn’t repetitive at all. I found myself worrying about who did it but it was more like, oh man who is lying to me right now because I’m so invested in all of them that I don’t want it to be any of them.

    I also love how you included what you were in high school. I don’t feel I fit into really any of the catergoies that were in the book. I guess at times the Outcast. Great review as well!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

