Reservations – Gwen Florio

Journalist Lola Wicks would much rather pursue a story than spend time with people she barely knows. So when an eco-terrorist bombing escalates the controversy surrounding a new coal mine on Arizona’s Navajo Reservation, she’s almost relieved to have the distraction from meeting her in-laws.

But as the violence gets worse and Lola digs deeper, she can’t escape the feeling that her husband’s family is somehow involved—a suspicion that jeopardizes not only her marriage, but also her life. – Goodreads.com

I received a copy of this book free from the publisher via netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

Gwen Florio is an incredible writer and journalist. You can feel the insider experience coming through in the novel via her characters, their experiences and the situations they face. Especially in the main character’s personality.

As per, I wasn’t too sure what to expect going into this one. I knew that it was definitely something that sounded right up my alley with a lot of action and adventure and I have always been very interested in Indigenous lives and cultures, especially living in Australia.

I don’t want to get political or too passionate in my review regarding the importance of culture preservation, respect and acknowledgement, etc., so I am going to stick to the novel itself which was amazing!

I feel that the characters were all presented in an honest light. I didn’t love every aspect of every character, just like you don’t always like every aspect of your own friends, family, workmates personalities or beliefs, etc. but they all had a reason or motivation behind their behaviour that made sense and I think that is what made them so well written.

I have to say that I really appreciated that the children in the book weren’t used as a sympathy arc – you know most films or books, where there are young children who either get hurt or upset but have no real personality, they’re just used as emotional leverage. These children in the novel had their own big personalities, motivations and beliefs which made their relationship all the more interesting and lovable.

This is definitely a novel I would recommend you read and I think I may purchase a copy for my friend’s birthday (who was raised as a child in America). I think this is something she would enjoy.

Let me know if you plan to get yourself a copy because I would love to chat more about this novel!

2 thoughts on “Reservations – Gwen Florio

Leave a Reply

