The Other Einstein – Marie Benedict

In 1896, the extraordinarily gifted Mileva is the only woman studying physics at an elite school in Zürich. There, she falls for charismatic fellow student Albert Einstein, who promises to treat her as an equal in both love and science. But as Albert’s fame grows, so too does Mileva’s worry that her light will be lost in her husband’s shadow forever. – Goodreads.com

I received a copy of this book free from the publisher via netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

I haven’t read a whole lot of historical fiction, so I’ve been working on expanding my horizons so to speak. This novel really jumped out at me, from the title alone at first. Once I read the description, I was set. I knew I had to read it.

This novel is written from the perspective of Einstein’s first wife. If you’re anything like me, you never knew that he was married at all or that he had children. Those things are definitely left out of the history books and it may just be that Mileva was left out of much more.

Mileva is an incredibly intelligent woman, holding her own and even surpassing Einstein in some physics and maths. She shows strength in overcoming her disability, going to school in an age where women were not supposed to be educated and in having a family – something she was told she could never have.

The age old question, answered here in a way, is can you have both love and family and a career? What factors go into the success or failure of each?

3 thoughts on “The Other Einstein – Marie Benedict

Leave a Reply

