Aphrodite – Kaitlin Bevis

Being perfect isn’t easy, but Aphrodite is determined to live up to the ideal. So when Poseidon asks her to investigate strange happenings on several cruise ships, she jumps at the chance to prove herself. Demigods are going missing, and no one remembers them having been on board. Aphrodite charms herself into the best room on the ship, prepared to investigate in style. Unfortunately, the room belongs to the one man immune to her charm.
Adonis.
When Aphrodite realizes that he could be the next target, her investigation gets more complicated. Worse, whoever is responsible for the missing demigods charmed the passengers and armed them with long-forgotten weapons designed to kill gods. When the ship goes dark, Aphrodite and Adonis have to work together to discover who is behind the mayhem before Poseidon decides their ship, and every charmed and armed human on it, are more trouble than they’re worth. – Goodreads.com

I received a copy of this book free from the publisher via netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

For someone who adores tales of mythology, especially Greek and Egyptian, I haven’t actually read much fiction based around the subjects. Aside from the Everworld series which I’ve read SO many times now.

This is a really cute, modern take on the Greek Gods by someone who has obviously done their research in terms of powers and family ties – something I always had trouble keeping track of!

The characters, similar to the Gods themselves, aren’t all flawless or likable but their mix of personalities works great for the story. So far I am really enjoying Poseidon, at least how he’s written, I don’t necessarily agree with all his actions. I’ve always had a thing for Gods that are linked to water.

The plot moves along nicely, there’s not a single scene without something going on, whether it’s relationship tension or full-blown action.

This is #4 in a series. Kaitlin on Goodreads has an average rating of almost 5 stars, so I can only imagine the rest of the series must be quite enjoyable. Though this can be read on it’s own or possibly out of order (if you don’t mind events not being in sequence!) I think it would be best read from first to last.

Who is your most loved Greek God/Goddess?

 

2 thoughts on “Aphrodite – Kaitlin Bevis

  1. This sounds like an interesting series. I cannot recall much that I have read based upon Greek mythology. But I did enjoy it tremendously in high school lit. I also can appreciate when characters are flawed. Sometimes that works better for me than “perfect”. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I definitely prefer a flawed character, it makes them so much more real and relatable! It’s definitely a more modern and interesting take on the Greek Gods.

      I think the last I read based on mythology covered every one I can think of, that was the Everworld series by K. A. Applegate. I’m lucky enough to have a full set now! Haven’t seen them around in a long time.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

