Insomnia – Stephen King

Since his wife died, Ralph Roberts has been having trouble sleeping. Each night he awakens a little earlier until he’s barely sleeping at all. During his late night vigils and walks, he observes some strange things going on in Derry, Maine. He sees colored ribbons streaming from people’s heads. He witnesses two strange little men wandering the city under cover of night. He begins to suspect that these visions are something more than hallucinations brought about by sleep deprivation. Ralph and his friend, widow Lois Chasse, become enmeshed in events of cosmic significance. – StephenKing.com

I know I have mentioned before that I am a big Stephen King fan. He is a great story teller, there are no boundaries to his writing, and he doesn’t let his imagination be stunted by rules. He dreams something up, he writes it and he writes it well.

POSSIBLE SPOILERS BELOW

Insomnia was a terrifying story for me, that actually left me unable to sleep most of the nights I was reading it. The idea of these little men controlling my life via an aura that I am completely unaware of is kind of scary and not completely unbelieveable. Just becasue we can’t see something, doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist, right?

I am a sucker for books like this. I like to know about people, a lot about people. Not in a nosey way, if something isn’t my business in real life, I won’t pry, but when it comes to books, I have to know everything I can about a character. This novel gave me exactly that. We got to look at all different people’s auras that told us about their health and personality and life span. Imagine having a pretty much set date of birth and death and absolutely no say in when it’s going to happen? (I’m a believer of free-will and random chance, though I guess random is a pattern in a way… Anyway, I haven’t had enough copy to keep on down this path!)

Stephen King wrote such a believable world in Insomnia it was difficult to not keep looking over my shoulder for the little people ready to cut my string or someone elses.

If you’re interested in a well paced, spooky read, then this is the book for you.

Pros

  • Crazy concept
  • Set in Derry, Maine!
  • Believable

Cons

  • As always with King, some stuff was a bit weird, but it worked for this story
8 thoughts on “Insomnia – Stephen King

    • Yeah I wouldn’t say Insomnia is his best story, thought it was creepy and strange!

      I’d recommend IT, Carrie, Christine or Four Past Midnight (mostly this one). Four Past Midnight is a bunch of short stories, including the story that the film Secret Window was based on πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Reblogged this on Wonderwall and commented:
    Someone who liked insomnia more than I did. Review clearly indicates where there are any spoilers although nothing major revealed. In comments they state Insomnia not best King book, so perhaps a shame that it was the first I found in a charity shop when looking for a King book as given how long books are then not sure would want to read another.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

