Utopia – Thomas More

First published in 1516, Thomas More’s Utopia is one of the most important works of European humanism. Through the voice of the mysterious traveler Raphael Hythloday, More describes a pagan, communist city-state governed by reason. Addressing such issues as religious pluralism, women’s rights, state-sponsored education, colonialism, and justified warfare,Utopia seems remarkably contemporary nearly five centuries after it was written, and it remains a foundational text in philosophy and political theory. – Goodreads.com

 

I started reading Utopia knowing absolutely nothing about it. I had kind of assumed that it might be a fictional story based in some form of paradise, but I found out pretty quickly that I was wrong.

Utopia is more like a constitution, a rule book or a description, I guess, of the rules of this non existent perfect world. And too bad it doesn’t exist because, from memory, some of it sounded quite good. It’s a very forward thinking and hopeful text, especially for it’s time and I think even now. I have a copy on my shelf and while I don’t plan on rereading the entire book I imagine that I will flick through it again at some point and read over bits and pieces that take my fancy.

I first heard about this novel watching Ever After, a Cinderella story. The book tied our Cinderella character to the memory of her father who would often read it to her. Excellent movie if you get a chance to watch it, by the way. I can’t count how many times I’ve seen it but I love it every time.

What would your perfect world be like?

Leave a Reply

