Punishment Summer – Peggy Rothschild

Sixteen-year-old Nicki is sent to stay at her grandfather’s cabin near the town of Punishment in the Mendocino Forest. As always, she hides her burn scars and keeps quiet about the mother who ran out on her. But soon after arriving, she begins to suspect Grandpa is also keeping secrets. Her exile brings an unexpected bright spot: Grandpa’s German shepherd, Queenie. The hunky neighbor boy’s another plus, though she quickly starts to doubt his honesty.

From secret pot farms to human trafficking, Nicki discovers nothing in the ‘Mendo’ is what it seems. When Grandpa takes off and the lives of new friends are endangered, Nicki must decide how far she’s willing to go to protect those she cares about. Before summer ends, Nicki will learn there are some choices she can’t undo.

It’s a good thing Grandpa taught her how to shoot. – Goodreads.com

I received this book free from the publisher via Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

Not going to lie, I wasn’t expecting all that much going into this novel and it took me a couple of goes to start it, I kept picking out other books instead.

Which I probably didn’t need to do… Considering I smashed this out in a matter of hours (between work breaks and home time and reading way past my bedtime) in one day. It was incredible.

There’s a little bit of infatuation (I wouldn’t say love because it didn’t come off that way, which is great because nobody likes instalove but infatuation and crushes I think we all get), there’s action, family secrets, drama, adventure, everything.

This book kept me up hours past my bed time because I could not put it down. Not one part of it felt drawn out or boring, it was well paced and we weren’t left in the dark about any of the plot lines.

Also, QUEENIE! What a legend!

Get a copy of this book, you won’t regret it. I think this is a definitely must have for Young Adult sections in school or public libraries. It will definitely get people reading.

Leave a Reply

