13 Reasons Why – Jay Asher

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list. – Goodreads.com

 

I picked up this novel because I had heard so much about it on various BookTube accounts. Heard about it as in a lot of BookTubers were hauling this novel but I hadn’t actually seen any reviews, yet.

I bought this one as an ebook, not quite sure how I would feel about it given it deals with a young girls suicide and the messages she has left behind for various people.

I think what bothered me the most about this novel was that I felt next to no sympathy for the girl who had committed suicide. Empathy, yes, in the sense that I wish she had been able to overcome her battles, but no sympathy in that I didn’t like her as a person and I definitely didn’t like her legacy of passing blame onto others.

Suicide itself is a very sensitive topic and I just don’t feel as though this novel handled it with the sensitivity it required. Instead it was used almost as a weapon, to spread blame and misery to the people left behind, lest their secrets be revealed.

Personally, this isn’t a book that I can see myself rereading and it isn’t one that I would recommend to otehrs.

Pros

  • Enjoyed visiting different places with the protagonist on his journey

Cons

  • Suicide not dealt with sensitively
  • More of a revenge theme which I found disappointing
  • Couldn’t relate to the characters
2 thoughts on “13 Reasons Why – Jay Asher

Leave a Reply

