The Body Finder – Kimberly Derting

Violet Ambrose is grappling with two major issues: Jay Heaton and her morbid secret ability. While the sixteen-year-old is confused by her new feelings for her best friend since childhood, she is more disturbed by her “power” to sense dead bodies—or at least those that have been murdered. Since she was a little girl, she has felt the echoes that the dead leave behind in the world… and the imprints that attach to their killers. – Goodreads.com

 

This was one of the novels that my sister passed on to me when she cleared out her shelves. The name and premise of the book drew me in right away. Who doesn’t love a bit of magical realism or fantasy or ESP or whatever this sub genre is…

I am obviously still in the dark about categorising books. This one was a YA novel though, I know that much!

I don’t usually expect too much from YA novels, I find a lot of the writing can be lazy or under developed which is disappointing as I feel it underestimates many young readers.

I was very happily surprised by The Body Finder. And happier again when I found out it’s only the first book of a series, though it does work well as a stand-alone.

I loved the concept of this novel, the main characters (both the teens and the parents) and the snippets we get from the killer’s POV.

The ending threw me for a moment and I almost ended up crying in my office and cursing the book when I read it.

tumblr_mcbpyr1zjj1riiw1do1_250

…But when I continued reading, all was well in my fictional world.

Can’t wait to get into the series.

Pros

  • Romance! Romance that wasn’t instalove, more specifically
  • Well written teens, adults and relationships

Cons

  • OK, a little over the top in the make-out scenes
  • Not much development, explanation or backstory in terms of the echos. Hoping this will be dealt with more in depth in following novels which i can’t wait to get my hands on!
Leave a Reply

