Slaughterhouse Five – Kurt Vonnegut

Kurt Vonnegut’s absurdist classic Slaughterhouse-Five introduces us to Billy Pilgrim, a man who becomes unstuck in time after he is abducted by aliens from the planet Tralfamadore. In a plot-scrambling display of virtuosity, we follow Pilgrim simultaneously through all phases of his life, concentrating on his (and Vonnegut’s) shattering experience as an American prisoner of war who witnesses the firebombing of Dresden. – Goodreads.com

 

I was doing some absolutely thrilling data entry work at my job when I thought I might pop into the book shop quickly and buy some headphones so I could listen to this book while I worked. Call me stupid, but I rarely bother to read the synopsis for books, so they’re never quite what I expect.

For some reason, I had it in my head that this was going to be a war-based novel about a group of five men. That’s not what it was at all. It was sci fi and time travel and war and optometry. It was insane! Insanely good!

Helped me pass a couple of hours without falling asleep at the keyboard which was a good relief and definitely made the day a bit more entertaining!

A really interesting piece of literature with hardly any confrontation or conflict, very few characters, but still incredibly entertaining and a great read. Something that takes real talent.

What’s the last audiobook you listened to?

Leave a Reply

