The Maze Runner Series – James Dashner

If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.

Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Everything is going to change.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

Remember. Survive. Run. – Goodreads.com

 

I want to start off by saying I first fell in love with these books when I saw those neon covers sitting on the shelves at K-Mart. I still love those covers even though I didn’t enjoy the story and ended up unhauling the books. Hopefully someone else will enjoy them more than I did.

I didn’t know much about The Maze Runner going into it. I knew there was a movie associated with the books that looked action packed judging by the previews, and I knew that it had a lot of hype around it. I suppose that’s why I thought the books would be much the same.

I enjoyed the beginning of the story (reading them in order of publication, with the prequel last), finding out a bit about the characters and enjoying the build-up of the world but it stopped there.

I somehow managed to finish reading the entire series but I can’t say that I actually enjoyed it. I’m not sure if it was the writing style, the lack of world building continuing throughout or just poor execution overall. The story just didn’t pull me in the way I thought it would. I couldn’t picture the majority of what was going on, I couldn’t connect with the characters. Not to say this is a “bad book”, it’s just one that I personally didn’t enjoy.

I suppose I was expecting a bit more action in the maze, a bit more exploration and interesting things going on. Walls changing places while the runners are inside, kind of like the maze in the Wizard’s Cup in Harry Potter. Instead the maze and the problems they faced in it were all pretty static.

*POSSIBLE SPOILER BELOW*

Also didn’t quite enjoy the dropping in of a female character, which was meant to be more powerful or interesting than it came across, and the convenient mind reading and figuring out of the system in an incredibly short time.

Pros

  • Great concept

Cons

  • Slow moving plot
  • Minimal action
  • Underdeveloped
Leave a Reply

