Infected – Scott Sigler

Across America a mysterious disease is turning ordinary people into raving, paranoid murderers who inflict brutal horrors on strangers, themselves, and even their own families.

Working under the government’s shroud of secrecy, CIA operative Dew Phillips crisscrosses the country trying in vain to capture a live victim. With only decomposing corpses for clues, CDC epidemiologist Margaret Montoya races to analyze the science behind this deadly contagion. She discovers that these killers all have one thing in common – they’ve been contaminated by a bioengineered parasite, shaped by a complexity far beyond the limits of known science.

Meanwhile Perry Dawsey – a hulking former football star now resigned to life as a cubicle-bound desk jockey – awakens one morning to find several mysterious welts growing on his body. Soon Perry finds himself acting and thinking strangely, hearing voices . . . he is infected. – Goodreads.com

My cousin introduced me to the audiobook version of Infected on a podcast (I use Podcast Addict but I believe it was also available on Stitcher). Most of the audiobooks that I have listened to have been classics and are often read by people with very soft voices, usually with American or English accents. It can be really nice but since classics don’t usually pack much action I always find myself drifting off about one chapter in.

I definitely did not have this issue with Scott Sigler’s Infected.

Scott reads with such energy in his voice that it’s impossible not to pay attention. You can feel the personalities of the different characters coming through which is aided by changes in voice, tone and accent. Personally, I think it’s one of the best audiobooks I have listened to.

The story of Infected, itself, is excellent. I found I was very sceptical when starting out, thinking it might not live up to whatever expectations I may have had but I was pleasantly surprised. The story and the writing has a style similar to Stephen King in that it is honest, brutal and unapologetic. A great narrative voice when it comes to horror, sci fi and action.

I think the book works well as a standalone but I believe there are also more books to this series and I am looking forward to diving into those when I have a bit more money in my pocket.

Pros

  • Brutal and honest writing
  • Dynamic and interesting character
  • Incredible build-up of suspense and horror
Leave a Reply

