The Collector – John Fowles

Withdrawn, uneducated and unloved, Frederick collects butterflies and takes photographs. He is obsessed with a beautiful stranger, the art student Miranda. When he wins the pools he buys a remote Sussex house and calmly abducts Miranda, believing she will grow to love him in time. Alone and desperate, Miranda must struggle to overcome her own prejudices and contempt if she is understand her captor, and so gain her freedom. – Goodreads.com

My cousin and I often share books with each other through Amazon or in person. I was having a browse through our current collection when I came across The Collector. It sounded interesting enough, with both the prisoner and the criminal narrating.

I remember feeling like my eyes were going to fall out of my head reading this one because I got so stuck into it that I couldn’t put it down until about 3am when I finished. Thank my lucky stars that I wasn’t working the next day! I enjoyed a lot of aspects of the novel, such as the plot and the quirks of the main character. It definitely made for an interesting read.

The criminal allowed for a really interesting point of view, and interesting character. I didn’t find much substance in the female character unfortunately and also found the ending a little bit disappointing. Considering the theme, the book seemed almost too calm a read and a little bit too predictable.

Pros

  • Interesting male protagonist
  • Great use of POV
  • A real as opposed to a Hollywood ending

Cons

  • Kind of predictable
  • Not a lot of suspense given the genre
Leave a Reply

