Whatever Happened to Baby Jane?

Baby Jane, a child star of early vaudeville, resented having to grow up in the shadow of her prettier sister Blanche Hudson, who became Hollywood’s reigning love goddess. Now, some fifty years later, they are together and alone. And reality has toppled crazily into eerie fantasy. Blanche now finds she is growing old in the shadow cast by Baby Jane — and a very sinister shadow it is. – Goodreads.com

I first came across Whatever Happened to Baby Jane in film. I love Bette Davis and when mum brought home the DVD and showed me the movie for the first time, it instantly became an all-time favourite. The story, the casting, the suspense. Every time I watch it it’s like seeing it for the first time.

Last year I decided to see if there was a book attached to the film, something which for some reason I just hadn’t considered before. As with many great films, there was, of course, a book. I ordered a second hand copy from Amazon and it’s been sitting on my shelf longer than I am proud to admit.

Now, to the story.

Two sisters. Fear. Hate. Secrets. Alcoholism. Disability. Crime. This book has everything. The movie is incredibly true to the writing so if you have seen the film, you won’t gain much in terms of story but you may enjoy reading instead of seeing. The grotesque descriptions of Baby Jane Hudson especially enchanted me.

I can’t say too much without giving away the story but I urge you to pick up the book OR the film. Whichever you prefer because this is just a story that you need to experience.

Favourite Character

Baby Jane Hudson

Pros

  • Lots of suspense.
  • Intense characters.

Cons

  • I can’t fault this novel.

 

IMG SOURCE: http://moviehole.net

Leave a Reply

